Vanguard Direct’s Creative Team Weighs in on What Steve Jobs Meant to Them

Gia:
Steve Jobs understood the value and beauty of simplicity. From the way Apple products look and feel to their super-friendly usability, simplicity was the key ingredient that made Apple a success. More importantly for designers, Steve also changed the image of the computer user from a geeky to a cool dude, saving us from a lot of cruel jokes. (My only gripe is that the once-affordable Mac product is now at an outrageously unaffordable price point, pricing out working-class people like me.)

Louise:
Let’s just say the Macintosh computer changed my career, practically overnight. Suddenly, all the tasks I did manually at a drafting table were done at a desk with this odd little machine. My first Mac was a lowly Mac LC, which looked like a pizza box with a monitor on top of it. It was the first computer I ever touched, and to this day, Macintosh computers are the only computers I’ve ever used. I wouldn’t ever consider buying anything else.

Kara:
Steve Jobs had a major influence on my career. My first job was pasteup and mechanicals for a printer––hand-drawn rules, Rubylith silhouettes, typeset galleys … all that has changed due to the genius of the Apple computer. Everything I do these days is wrapped up in my iMac, iPad, and iPhone. Would love to see what he would have created, given another 20 years.

Kevin:
A visionary trendsetter who has been responsible for changing my life several times. Through his inventions, he has helped make the world a better place for all of us.

Antonio:
I have been an Apple fanboy since I was 16 years old. I have bought and used almost every product since that time. Jobs’s ideas and ability to simplify life will be greatly missed, and I hope that his legacy lives on through his company. His personality has shown through his products and has made many people feel close to him to the point that I will miss him as if we were close friends. R.I.P., Steve.

John:
From the earliest days, Apple cultivated a relationship with schools and educators. Coming from a family of teachers, I inevitably encountered Apple computers at holidays and other family get-togethers. Christmas of 1993 was the year my sister and her husband had just bought––at an excellent discount––the smokin’ hot new Macintosh Color Classic. My tiny nieces found their uncle’s computing ineptness hilarious, but I spent every available moment that Christmas playing Sierra’s King’s Quest game on big 5-inch floppies, and was hooked for life.

As a non-teacher, I couldn’t afford a Mac, so I got as close as I could with a Packard Bell 486 machine, running DOS, along with a (sort of) color monitor. Snorts of derision aside, it played games, ran a crude version of WordPerfect, and eventually I even souped it up with a $400, 20MB hard drive! That led to building/upgrading my own computers––which I do to this day––but the guiding hand of Steve Jobs was right there from the start.

Susan:
It was 1982 and our school was getting new computers––half the class was getting PCs, and the other half was getting Apple IIs. While the other side struggled to put their computers together, assembling the Apple II was as simple as taking items out of the box and plugging them together (computer, keyboard, and mouse) and just as easy to use. I was smitten with Apple.

Over the years, Apple has been my computer of choice, and with each new version, I have been amazed with the vision Steve had and have fallen in love with his design sense. With each project he worked on, his genius came out more and more––from Pixar to his latest item, the iPad, his sense of style comes across. The iPhone is my right hand: my connection to the world, my news source, and my entertainment. I hope that his vision will continue for a long time to come.

Marina:
Steve Jobs gave us products we didn’t know we wanted and made those products parts of our lives. Steve, the American hero. R.I.P.

Will (“SUPERHERO”):
What’s to say? A large part of my career has been based on this guy’s products.

Renee:
Steve Jobs changed my two-hour commute each way—from stressful to peaceful—by inventing the iPod shuffle.

Mark:
My second life as a graphic designer started the day Apple’s co-founders, Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak, created the Apple I in Steve Jobs’s parents’ garage in 1976.

My first life consisted of rubber cement fumes, X-ACTO blades, and a T-square for mathematically copy fitting galleys upon galleys of type to be generated by outside typography companies.

Thank you, Steve, for my second life!

Author: Eric Swenson

Leave a Reply

