Are We Living the Jetson Life?

I will admit I am a child of the 60s and was raised with the television as my babysitter. I will also admit I am a science fiction fan––it started early in life, with The Jetsons and then Star Trek. I used to wonder what life would be like with such cool gadgets at our fingertips. While we are not there yet, we do have some cool items in our everyday lives. Here are a few from The Jetsons:

Moving Walkways: Although we don’t see these every day, they can be seen and used at most airports.

Televiewer: Just imagine looking at a screen and reading real-time news from all over the globe. Hmm … I don’t know about you, but that is how I start my morning.

Robot Vacuum Cleaner: The Roomba is like Rosie, but without the personality.

We have nailed a couple of things from Star Trek as well:

Communicator: Whenever I saw a clamshell cell phone, I could not help but think of the “communicators” of Star Trek.

Wireless Earpiece: I wonder how much influence Uhura’s (slightly more stylish) earpiece has had on today’s Bluetooth devices.

Portable Memory: We have actually moved past this technology. Spock would carry around small, square items from computer to computer, but we have moved from 3.5 disks to clouds––I think Gene would be amazed at how far we have come.

NASA is currently working on a tractor beam for future unmanned space probes. The beam would pull tiny particles closer to the probe for analysis. NASA predicts this technology is only ten years away.

What TV/movie technology would you like to see become a reality?

Author: Susan Hallinan

2 responses to “Are We Living the Jetson Life?

  1. Christina Liolin

    I would love to be transported to the south of France in about 3 seconds whenever the mood struck me!!! Also, I would love to order my dinner, push a couple of buttons and Voila!

  2. I agree with Christina; I’d love a food replicator. I’d also love a holo-deck to virtually transport myself into any sort of reality. Re: Fiji, Mars, etc.

Leave a Reply

