What the Fork? New HTML5 Specs Split.

Until recently two standards bodies were responsible for the development of HTML5: the WHATWG (Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group) and the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium). The groups shared duties writing and editing what we have come to know as HTML5. On July 19, HTML5 editor Ian Hickson sent an email to WHATWG group announcing the split of the two groups. The differences in the two groups are:

WHATWG is going to be working on a “Living Standard,” meaning that the “5” will be removed, and the specs will be updated on an ongoing basis, in response to feedback or issues that arise.

W3C will continue the numbered system, using the development tradition in which each version is released and frozen, except for minor issue resolution. Significant updates are reserved for the next numbered version.

Mr. Hickson believes the split will make the development of HTML(5) progress quicker, since there will be two teams working on new features and implementation. We can hope that, day to day, nothing will change for the developers … and that they will regularly compare and combine their work.

Author: Susan Hallinan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s