AdForum’s Top 5 Commercials for This Week

Take a look below at AdForum’s top five commercials for this week. There’s a nice, dynamic range of spots that I’m sure will intrigue you. Each spot sort of pulls at a different pathos string. The Sealy spot is a bit obvious—and far more sexual than I think we’re used to seeing for a mattress company. Then again, maybe that makes sense.

I felt like I needed Ritalin after watching both the Cadbury and Chevrolet ads. Is this the new trend for commercials? Flashing sequences that are almost impossible to keep up with? Perhaps we’re beginning to target the ADD youth of today. I will say that the Chevrolet ad seemed big-budget and an art director’s dream. The Cadbury ad, too, made me think that some AD out there was basically instructed to re-create Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory and add a dash of James Bond. Um, yes, please.

The Boston Pizza spot had me laughing. I genuinely think I’m going to start referring to my food as being “divine.”

And how can you not love Matt Lauer and an old father/daughter spot? Cute, catchy, and effective.

Have a favorite? Take a look at these five and let us know what you think!

1. Sealy – “Life Before Your Eyes” – Arcana Academy

2. Cadbury – “Taste” – Fallon London

3. Chevrolet – “Find New Roads Anthem” – Commonwealth

4. Boston Pizza – “Foodie Monster” – TAXI, Toronto

5. Toshiba – “Future” – LBL Communication Group

Publisher’s Pick: National Responsible Fatherhood Clearinghouse – “Hiding” – Campbell Ewald

Leave a Reply

